The Crash

The sand was still warm under my feet

The air humid and heavy

I could smell the salt

See the dark of the ocean

Gulls called from the leaden sky

Clouds moved like liquid pewter

I could hear voices calling to me

I should turn back

Follow the tracks I made

The sound of the waves

so intoxicating

Thunder crashed loudly

The sky was growing darker

I kept walking

The voices were now distant whispers

barely heard

I could feel the mist on my face now

The water was cold

I felt it wrap around my ankles

I went deeper

The birds kept calling

I could see it coming

dark

Water wrapped cold but seductive

around my hips

I stopped

It hit

The crash of the wave

So cold

I couldn’t breathe

then I smiled as I made my way back to shore

Leave a Reply

